» » » » Where Is Zanjan
which type of tourism is more suitable for visiting iran ?
Ecotourism & Geotourism Attractions
Cultural And Social
Sport Attractions
Religious Attractions
Health Attractions


Where Is Zanjan


Zanjan Province is one of the 31 provinces of Iran. Located in Iranian Azerbaijan, it is part of Iran's Regions 3. Its capital is Zanjan city. Zanjan province with an area of 36,400 km² has a mostly rural, population of 1,015,734 (2011). The province lies 330 km northwest of Tehran, connected to it via a freeway.
Agriculture is the principal occupation, and crops include rice, corn (maize), oilseeds, fruits, and potatoes. Poultry, cattle, and sheep are raised. In the region Zanjan is also famous for its seedless grapes. Manufactures include bricks, cement, milled rice, and carpets. Chromium, lead, and copper are mined. In the scientific world the Zanjan name is famous for IASBS, one of the most productive research centers of the country .
Zanjan is also known for its beautiful handcrafts such as knives, traditional sandals called charoogh and malileh. Malileh is a handcraft made with silver wires. Zanjanian artists make many things like various decorative dishes and their special covers as well as silver jewelry. In ancient times, Zanjan was known for its stainless and sharp knives. But this tradition is gradually becoming extinct by introduction of Chinese knives to the market which are cheaper and better made than these primitive industries. Many villagers today are traditional carpet weavers. This is perhaps Zanjan's most popular handcraft.
The province economy is benefiting from the its geographical location which is connecting central part of Iran to the north western provinces. The Railway and highway that connects Iran's capital city Tehran to Tabriz, and Turkey is passing through Zanjan Province.
Zanjan has an area of 22,164 km², occupying 1.34% of the Iranian territory. The average population density in Zanjan is 4¼ people per km. Located north west of Iran, Zanjan covers joint borders with seven provinces- East Azerbaijan, West Azerbaijan, Hamadan, Kordestan, Gilan, Ghazvin and Ardabil. Shahrestan, or counties, in Zanjan Province are:
Abhar County
Eejrud County
Khodabandeh County
Khorramdarreh County
Zanjan County
Tarom County
Mahneshan County
Zanjan has a highland climate characterized by cold snowy weather in the mountains and moderate climate in the plains in wintertime. In the summers, the weather is warm. The average maximum temperature of Zanjan is around 27 °C, whereas the average minimum temperature stands at -19 °C. Meanwhile, the temperature rises to 32 °C on hot days, whereas it drops to -27 °C below zero on icy days. The average annual rainfall in the first month of spring stands at 72 millimetres, while in the second month of summer, it slips to a meagre 3.6 mm. The rate of humidity in the morning stands by average at 74% and at noon at 43%. The Zanjān River is the only major river in the region.
Azeris are the main ethnic group in the province followed by Tats. Cities and villages in southwest of Zanjan province have Kurdish population. Like every other part of Iran the lingua franca is Persian.
Geocoding for Zanjan,Iran: 36.6751°N 48.4845°E

Теги: zanjan, must see zanjan, zanjan must see, west of iran, zanjan province, zanjan attractions, places to go in zanjan, iran attractions, iran tourism, must see iran, places to go in iran, places to see in tehran, travel to iran

Also recommended:

  • Where Is Markazi Markazi Province, the medieval Iraq-i Ajam, more recently Arak—is one of the 31 provinces of Iran. The word markazi means central in Persian. In 2014 it was placed in Region 4.Markazi lies in
  • Where Is East Azarbaijan East Azerbaijan Province is one of the 31 provinces of Iran. It is located in Iranian Azerbaijan, bordering with Armenia, Republic of Azerbaijan, Ardabil Province, West Azerbaijan Province, and
  • Where Is West Azarbaijan West Azerbaijan Province is one of the 31 provinces of Iran. It is in the northwest of the country, bordering Turkey, Iraq and Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic, and the provinces of East
  • Where Is Gilan Gilan Province, also Latinized as Guilan  is one of the thirty-one provinces of Iran. It lies along the Caspian Sea, in Iran's Region 3, just west of the province of Mazandaran, east of
  • Where Is ArdebilArdabil Province is one of the thirty-one provinces of Iran. It is in the northwest of the country, in Regions 3, bordering the Republic of Azerbaijan, the provinces of East Azerbaijan, Zanjan, and
Dear visitor, you are visiting the site as an unregistered user.
We recommend that you Register or enter the site under your name.